Denying an old saying

Lightening struck twice… What does this mean? My intention in this blog is to tell my story, the story of my mom, and the story of my twin sister. The old saying goes that lightening never strikes the same place twice. I have to say that is wrong. At the age of 7, just before my 8th birthday, my mom passed away. A coma induced by too high a dose of painkillers after surgery. At the age of 20, just before my 21st birthday, my twin sister passed away. A coma caused as a result of a hit and run on her bike by a drunk driver. Lightening struck twice. Two instances unique in their own way, yet so similar and devastating. In time I will tell these stories. I hope that you will learn with me the lessons of life and experience all that comes with it – funny and serious, petty and significant, questions and answers, upsetting and fulfilling.

Leave a comment