Flying Again

There is a park here that I enjoy going to. It’s a victims crime memorial where the victims advocate for my family put a stone down for my twin. This park is beautiful – to one side there is a dog park and to the other a big playground and to the other a huge open field. The memorial walkway has lots of trees and plants and it is so mysteriously cool, even on the hottest day. I love going to visit when I have free time, which I did today. Going to the park is my “me time” with Becca. It’s peaceful and calming. While I was there today on the swings a little girl came up and sat on the swing next to me. She said to me before she started to pump “The best part is when you get so high you come out of your seat”, to which I agreed. We started to swing as high as we could until we were both bouncing in our seats and falling back down. The thing I have always loved about swings is this kind of rush you get right before you start to come back down – the weight is lifted and the wind is in your hair. It’s freeing. As a kid, it’s you flying, even if for just the briefest of moments. When you get older, it’s you releasing the burdens of life and feeling that childhood, that kid in you – feeling like you can fly. I don’t think I’ll ever get over that rush.swing

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment